Executive Committee 2020-2021


Mr. Ian Allen
Executive Director, College of Extended Learning
University of New Brunswick


Dr. Sheila LeBlanc
Director, Continuing Education
University of Calgary

Past President

Dr. Heather McRae
Dean, School of Continuing Education
MacEwan University

Secretary Treasurer

Ms. Kristine Collins
Director, Academic Programs, School of Continuing Studies
University of Toronto

Western Representative

Ms. Christie Schultz
Director, Centre for Continuing Education
University of Regina

Central Representative

Ms. Jennie Atkins
Executive Director, Continuing Education
University of Windsor

Eastern Representative

Mr. Dany Benoit
Directeur Général, Formation Continue
Executive Director, Continuing Education Office

Université de Moncton

Standing Committees

Our communications committee recommends and oversees the development of communications strategies for the association.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Belinda Elliott-Bielecki, University of New Brunswick (Chair)
  • Dany Benoit, Université de Moncton (Liaison)
  • Alison Adair, University of Western Ontario
  • Janice Cooke, University of Waterloo
  • Holly Cox, Wilfrid Laurier University
  • Shannon Koumphol, Ryerson University
  • Samantha Lehmond, University of Regina
  • Lynda Williams, University of Northern British Columbia

Our conference planning committee is responsible for the design, framework and overall success of our annual conference and meeting.

2019-2020 Committee Members

  • Sheila LeBlanc, University of Calgary (Chair/Liaison)
  • Coral Sawchyn, CAUCE
  • Deanna Wolfe, CAUCE

2019 – McMaster University
  • Lorraine Carter

2020 – University of Calgary
  • Shannon Franzky
  • Lorna Prediger
  • Danelle Greebe

2021 – University of New Brunswick
  • Ian Allen
  • Sheila Burt

Our membership committee plays a critical role in ensuring our association has a thriving, satisfied membership.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Heather McRae, MacEwan University (Liaison)
  • Gary Hepburn, Ryerson University
  • Robert Wensveen, University of Calgary
  • Janice Landry, St. Francis Xavier University
  • Alex Waugh, Honorary Member

Our professional development committee has a broad mandate to conduct needs assessments and design and offer professional development programs for our members.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Christie McGaghran, McMaster University (Chair)
  • Jennie Atkins, University of Windsor (Liaison)
  • Inna Popova, McGill University 
  • Natasha Rajcevic, University of Calgary
  • Leonora Zefi, Ryerson University
  • Dimitra Fotopoulos, Mount Royal University
  • Terumi Taylor, University of Calgary
  • Kristin Mulligan, Athabasca University
  • Michelle Jones, University of New Brunswick
  • Marina DeBona, York University
  • Kari Kumar, University of Manitoba
  • Melanie Fay, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Rodney Holt, Red Deer College

Award Committees

Our design and marketing awards committee conducts the submission and evaluation process for the annual design and marketing awards competition– an annual competition adjudicated by a committee of professional peers from across the country to recognize innovation and excellence of design and marketing initiatives in a number of categories.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Rachel Watters, University of New Brunswick (Co-Chair)
  • Christina Abraham, Ryerson University (Co-Chair)
  • Christie Schultz, University of Regina (Liaison)
  • Jody Edwards, University of Calgary
  • Laureen Spratt, University of Alberta
  • Karen Hamilton, McMaster University
  • Amy Baier, University of Toronto

Our nominations committee is responsible for soliciting nominations to the offices and executive positions of the association, for honorary membership, and for the award of recognition.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Heather McRae, MacEwan University (Chair/Liaison)
  • Carolyn Young, Western University
  • Gary Hepburn, University of Manitoba

Our program awards committee overseas the submission and evaluation process for the annual program awards of excellence. The competition is adjudicated by a committee of professional peers from across the country to recognize innovation and excellence in program development in a number of categories.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Jo-Anne Clarke, University of Victoria (Chair)
  • Christie Schultz, University of Regina (Liaison)
  • Kristopher Noseworthy, Université de Saint-Boniface
  • Nada Savicevic, Ryerson University
  • Raveen Sanghera, Simon Fraser University
  • Effie Dracopoulos, McGill University
  • Marcia McKenzie, University of Manitoba
  • Nicole Tate-Hill, Western University
  • Natalie Green, University of Guelph
  • Leonora Zefi, Ryerson University
  • Lorraine Mercer, Huntington University

Our research and scholarship committee fosters research and scholarly activities relevant to continuing education among our member institutions.

2020-2021 Committee Members

  • Alison Brophey, University of Victoria (Co-Chair)
  • Harvey King, University of Regina (Co-Chair)
  • Jennie Atkins, University of Windsor (Liaison)
  • Christie Schultz, University of Regina
  • Kristin Wilson, University of Waterloo
  • Dijana Praskac, Ryerson University
  • Kerrie Strathy, University of Regina
  • Kyle Whitfield, University of Alberta
  • Harvey King, University of Regina
  • Paul Jenkins, University of Manitoba
  • Juan Mavo Navarro, University of Toronto
  • Brad Mahon, Mount Royal University

Interested in serving on a committee?

Participating on a standing committee is a great way to build relationships and network with your continuing education colleagues across Canada. It also serves as a professional development opportunity as you will gain experience and learn from your colleagues. Through active participation on a committee, you may also have the opportunity to someday chair or co-chair the committee or become a member of the executive committee. Joining a standing committee gives you the opportunity to participate in CAUCE at a greater level and contribute to the growth and future success of our organization.

Contact the Secretariat if you are interested in serving on a standing committee and for more information.