The Research Awards recognize both graduate student research and individuals who have made a sustained contribution to research.

Check back this fall for nomination deadlines. 

Distinguished Researcher Award

The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual who has made a long-term, sustained contribution to research into university continuing education and/or adult education in Canada.

Nomination Process:
In the case of each award, individuals from CAUCE member institutions may nominate their peers. The nomination should describe the contribution made by the nominee to the field and provide a rationale of why the person is a deserving winner of the award.

  • 2013 - Lorraine Carter, Nipissing University
  • 2013 - Vernon Curran, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • 2012 - Tom Nesbit, Simon Fraser University
  • 2011 - Scott McLean, University of Calgary
  • 2010 - Randy Garrison, University of Calgary
  • 2007 - Gordon Thompson, University of Saskatchewan
  • 1999 - Earl Misanchuk, University of Saskatchewan

Graduate Thesis or Dissertation Award

The purpose of the awards is to recognize a graduate thesis or dissertation that makes a distinct contribution to Canadian-based university continuing education and/or adult education.

Submissions are invited from individuals attending Canadian universities or Canadians attending universities outside of Canada. In order to be eligible, the thesis or dissertation must have been successfully completed (defended) within two calendar years prior to the award application. Theses previously submitted to CAUCE for this award are not eligible for consideration.

The following criteria will be used in evaluating submissions:

  • centrality and relevance of the topic to university continuing education;
  • clarity of the thesis statement;
  • strength and coherence of the findings/conclusion;
  • effectiveness of the organization and style of the presentation;
  • doctoral theses or dissertation will be expected to meet higher criteria levels than masters' theses;
  • should it be appropriate, awards will be given for both a masters' thesis and a doctoral thesis or dissertation.

Applicants must submit (on the form below):

  1. a 500-word statement indicating the relevance of the research to university continuing education;
  2. a copy of the dissertation or thesis;
  3. at least two supporting letters.
  • 2021 - Marlowe Morrison, University of Victoria
  • 2021 - Christina White, University of Calgary
  • 2019 - Rebecca Short, University of Alberta
  • 2016 - Kathy Snow, Cape Breton University
  • 2013 - Janice Cruise, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2010 - Heather McRae, University of Victoria
  • 2009 - Brian Campbell, University of Regina
  • 2007 - Lorraine Carter, Laurentian University
  • 2004 - Dirk Morrison, University of Saskatchewan
  • 2001 - Nancy Petersen, Simon Fraser University
  • 2000 - Francois Ruph, Université du Québec