Call for Nominations – CAUCE Executive Committee

Please consider serving on the CAUCE executive committee or nominating a colleague for a position.

Serving on the executive committee is a fantastic opportunity for professional development and provides you with lots of opportunities to build relationships and expand knowledge in areas of national relevance. Each year, positions for which nominations are accepted are as follows:

    •    President-Elect
    •    Secretary-Treasurer
    •    Three Regional Representatives

The executive is well supported by the CAUCE secretariat, and typically requires a commitment of about one day per month (plus events like the deans and directors meeting and the annual conference). Nominations close on February 15th!

The 2017-2018 members of the CAUCE Executive are:

President: Gary Hepburn, University of Manitoba
Past-President: Michelle Fach, University of Guelph
President-Elect: Carolyn Young, Western University
Secretary-Treasurer: Heather McRae, MacEwan University
Eastern Region Representative: Ian Allen, University of New Brunswick
Central Region Representative: Naza Djafarova, Ryerson University
Western Region Representative: Richard Rush, University of Victoria

The CAUCE by-laws allow an individual to serve no more than two consecutive years in the same position. For 2017-2018, the current president, Gary Hepburn, will automatically become past-president. The status of the other executive positions is as follows:

The current President-Elect, Carolyn Young, will become President, vacating the President-Elect position.

Heather McRae is eligible for re-nomination as Secretary-Treasurer and is eligible for nomination to become President-Elect.

Eastern Region Representative
Ian Allen is finishing his term and not eligible for re-nomination but eligible for nomination for Secretary-Treasurer.

Central Region Representative
Naza Djafarova is eligible for re-nomination for a second term in this position.

Western Region Representative
Richard Rush is finishing his term and not eligible for re-nomination, but eligible for nomination for Secretary-Treasurer.

All full-time members of professional staff at continuing education units that are institutional members of CAUCE are eligible to be nominated. Nominators must also be full-time professional staff of member institutions.  

All nominations must be accompanied, or followed shortly, by the nominee’s agreement that if presented as a candidate for election, he or she will:

  • attend the 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM) and Conference in Halifax, NS,
  • if acclaimed or elected at the AGM, attend a brief executive committee meeting at the conclusion of the Halifax conference if requested by the president, and
  • carry out executive responsibilities as agreed to with the president.

Please ensure your nominee completes the consent form for nomination.

Travel costs of the president are normally born, in part or in whole, by the president’s university. However, presidents who are not able to secure institutional funding for travel may be supported by the CAUCE operating budget and/or special reserve.  

Nominations close on February 15, 2018.

Questions regarding nominations for CAUCE Executive can be directed to:

Michelle Fach
Past-President, CAUCE