Award of Recognition

This award, instituted in 1988, is to be given annually if a suitable candidate is nominated by a member university continuing education unit. Award recipients are selected for their sustained and major contribution to the enterprise of Continuing Education through their role in communicating and championing University Continuing Education to the wider community, their support and resources to a Continuing Education Unit, or to lifelong learning projects, their leadership in adult education causes, including contributing to policy or decision-making, and promoting the recognition of the importance of Continuing Education within the University community.

It may be awarded to a Canadian who is not employed as a professional in university continuing education and who has made an outstanding contribution to the development of continuing education/adult education in Canada . Nominations may only be received from Institutional Members of CAUCE.

The deadline for nomination is February 15th of each year.

Nominate now!


YearRecipientNominated by
2014Paul BélangerUniversité de Montréal
2010 A. Maxwell HouseMemorial University of Newfoundland
2004G. Raymond ChangRyerson University
1988Lloyd ShawDalhousie University
1989Walter PitmanRyerson Polytechnical Institute
1990Donner Canadian FoundationSimon Fraser University
1991Michèlle JeanDalhousie University and Saint Francis Xavier University
1996Frank McKennaUniversity of New Brunswick